Skip to main content
|
Intro
#artworkoftheweek

Rudolf Urech-Seon - Composition W, 1941

   

Rudolf Urech-Seon - Composition W, 1941
Oil on canvas
85 x 100 cm

In the 1940s, the artistic development of abstraction in Rudolf Urech-Seon's paintings reached a peak. Purely abstract compositions with geometric and curved shapes in bright colours are increasingly being created. Urech-Seon's late work is characterized by a greatly reduced repertoire of colours and a repetitively used formal language.

Composition W from 1941 is one of these abstract paintings. The central, oval-shaped main motif occupies the entire image space and bumps into the edge of the image on all sides. The background is divided into two areas and the colours brown and blue are reminiscent of the classic landscape division into earth and sky. Although the artist does not bring any perspective into the picture, he achieves a certain depth and plasticity through the careful selection of colours and the arrangement of the fields to a uniform constellation.

Urech-Seon's path to abstraction was heavily criticized in his home circles. Only when the artist joined the Allianz (Association of Modern Artists in Switzerland) in 1947 did his work gain recognition. As a result, he could show his works in the three Allianz exhibitions at the Kunstverein St. Gallen (1947), the Kunsthaus Zürich (1947) and the Helmhaus Zürich (1954), as well as in 1948 and 1950 as part of the Salon des Realités Nouvelles in Paris.

Direkt zum Inhalt
|
Intro
#artworkoftheweek

Rudolf Urech-Seon - Composition W, 1941

   

Rudolf Urech-Seon - Composition W, 1941
Öl auf Leinwand
85 x 100 cm

In den 1940er Jahren erreicht die künstlerische Entwicklung der Abstraktion in Rudolf Urech-Seons Bildern einen Höhepunkt. Es entstehen vermehrt rein abstrakte Kompositionen mit geometrischen und geschwungenen Formen in leuchtenden Farben. Urech-Seons Alterswerk ist gekennzeichnet durch ein stark reduziertes Farbenrepertoire und eine repetitiv eingesetzte Formensprache.

Zu diesen abstrakten Malereien zählt das Werk Composition W aus dem Jahr 1941. Das zentrale, oval-förmige Hauptmotiv nimmt dem gesamten Bildraum ein und stösst auf allen Seiten an den Bildrand an. Der Hintergrund teilt sich in zwei Farbflächen und erinnert durch die Farben Braun und Blau an die klassische Landschaftsunterteilung in Erde und Himmel. Obwohl der Künstler keine Perspektive in das Bild einbringt, erreicht er durch die sorgfältige Farbauswahl und das Arrangieren der Farbflächen zu einer einheitlichen Formenkonstellation eine gewisse Tiefe und Plastizität.

In seinen heimischen Künstlerkreisen wurde Urech-Seons Weg in die Abstraktion stark kritisiert. Erst als der Künstler 1947 der Allianz (Vereinigung der modernen Künstler in der Schweiz) beitritt, erfährt seine Arbeit Anerkennung. Folglich kann er seine Werke in den drei Allianz-Ausstellungen im Kunstverein St. Gallen (1947), im Kunsthaus Zürich (1947) und im Helmhaus Zürich (1954) zeigen, sowie 1948 und 1950 im Rahmen des Salon des Realités Nouvelles in Paris.